Thanks to the generosity of alumni and staff, the department began conferring student awards in 1985. These awards have honored distinguished undergraduates and graduate students and have helped the Communication department maintain its status as a leader in research and teaching.

For information about contributing to a student award, please contact the Department.

Illinois Tradition Awards given:

  • The Richard Murphy Award
  • The Wayland Maxfield Parrish Award
  • The King Broadrick-Allen Award
  • The Otto A. L. Dieter Award
  • The Henry L. Mueller Award
  • The Marie Hochmuth Nichols Award
  • The Stafford H. Thomas Award
  • The Jesse Delia Award
  • The Karl R. Wallace Award
  • The Ruth S. and Charles H. Bowman Award
  • The Ruth Anne Clark Scholar Fund
  • The Kenneth M. Burns Scholarship
  • The Joseph Wenzel Award